

OFFICE OF THE UNDER SECRETARY OF DEFENSE 3000 DEFENSE PENTAGON WASHINGTON, DC 20301-3000

OCT - 9 2012

ACQUISITION, TECHNOLOGY AND LOGISTICS

> MEMORANDUM FOR COMMANDER, UNITED STATES SPECIAL OPERATIONS COMMAND (ATTN: ACQUISITION EXECUTIVE) COMMANDER, UNITED STATES TRANSPORTATION COMMAND (ATTN: ACQUISITION EXECUTIVE) ASSISTANT SECRETARY OF THE ARMY (PROCUREMENT) ASSISTANT SECRETARY OF THE NAVY (ACQUISITION & PROCUREMENT) ASSISTANT SECRETARY OF THE AIR FORCE (CONTRACTING) DIRECTORS, DEFENSE AGENCIES DIRECTORS, DOD FIELD ACTIVITIES

SUBJECT: National Disability Employment Awareness Month and the AbilityOne Program

Congress has designated October as National Disability Employment Awareness Month (NDEAM). This year's NDEAM theme, "A Strong Workforce is an Inclusive Workforce: What Can YOU Do?" promotes the benefits of a diverse workforce that includes employees with disabilities. NDEAM provides an excellent opportunity to recognize the contributions of employees with disabilities and celebrate the AbilityOne[®] Program, which assists Americans who are blind or have significant disabilities gain meaningful employment through Federal contracts, and lead more productive and independent lives. For over 75 years, the Program has provided a wide variety of goods and services in support of the defense mission. The Department continues to be the largest customer of the AbilityOne Program, procuring more than \$1.8 billion of products and services in FY2011.

Over the past year, my office and the U.S. AbilityOne CommissionTM, the Federal agency that administers the AbilityOne Program, recognized the acquisition professionals identified in the attached list who demonstrated a commitment in action to increasing business with AbilityOne. I congratulate these award recipients, and express appreciation to our workforce for their steadfast support of the AbilityOne Program. My senior staff lead for AbilityOne procurement policy is Ms. Susan Pollack at 703-697-8336, or <u>susan.pollack@osd.mil</u>.

chard Ginman

Director, Defense Procurement and Acquisition Policy

Attachment: As stated

Department of Defense Acquisition Workforce Members Recognized in Fiscal Year 2012

Awards Presented by the U.S. AbilityOne Commission:

Colonel Roger Westermeyer, Deputy Director, Air Force Materiel Command, HQ AFMC/PK, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base – Recipient of the 2012 E.R. "Dick" Alley Career Achievement Award. This award is the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. AbilityOne Commission and recognizes Federal employees who have provided extraordinary achievement and sustained effort to create AbilityOne employment and training opportunities on Federal contracts for people who are blind or have other significant disabilities.

Mr. Dennis Hass, Director of Business Operations, Operational Contracting Division (SMC/PKO), Los Angeles Air Force Base – Recipient of the 2012 Outstanding Contributions Award.

AbilityOne Commitment in Action Award Recipients Presented by the Department of Defense and the U.S. AbilityOne Commission:

Mr. Michael Canales - Office of the Secretary of Defense, Acquisition, Technology & Logistics

Ms. Kathryn Scanlan - Office of the Secretary of Defense, Acquisition, Technology & Logistics

Ms. Nancy Heimbaugh (SES) – Defense Logistics Agency

Mr. Milton Lewis (SES) – Defense Logistics Agency

Ms. Katherine Timberlake – Defense Threat Reduction Agency

Department of the Air Force

Major General Wendy Masiello, Deputy Assistant Secretary (Contracting)

Mr. Patrick Rhode – Deputy Assistant Secretary (Contracting)

Mr. William Sproule – Deputy Assistant Secretary (Contracting)

LtCol Kevin Hobbs – Deputy Assistant Secretary (Contracting)

Mr. William Bishop – Deputy Assistant Secretary (Contracting)

Mr. Patrick Knepper - Deputy Assistant Secretary (Contracting)

Maj Tanya DeWalt – Deputy Assistant Secretary (Contracting)

Ms. Valerie Wetzel – HQ Air Force Materiel Command (Contracting)

- Ms. Diane Mientek HQ Air Education & Training Command (Contracting)
- Mr. Warren Ector HQ Air Force District Washington (Contracting)

Mr. Jeremy Lubbert – HQ Air Force Space Command (Contracting)

Ms. Martha Justice – HQ Air Combat Command (Contracting)

Maj David Hatton – HQ Pacific Air Force (Contracting)

Department of the Navy

Mr. James Meade (SES) – Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Navy (Acquisition & Procurement)

Ms. Diane Balderson (SES) - Naval Air Systems Command

Ms. Lori Frame – Naval Air Systems Command

CAPT Roger Ligon – Naval Air Systems Command

Mr. Michael Denny - Naval Air Systems Command

Ms. Tara Capecci – Naval Air Systems Command

Mrs. Janice Woehrer - Naval Air Systems Command

Mr. Greg Szczyglowski - Naval Air Systems Command

Mr. Dan Ratcliff – Naval Air Systems Command

Ms. Donna Bibee – Naval Air Systems Command

Mr. Thomas Trump (SES) – Naval Supply Systems Command

Captain Arturo Lopez - Naval Supply Systems Command

Mr. Albert Fanelli - Naval Supply Systems Command

Ms. Louise Beer – Naval Supply Systems Command

Department of the Army

Mr. Kim Denver (SES) – Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Army (Procurement)

Dr. Carol Lowman (SES) - Army Contracting Command

Mr. Henry Molnar – Army Contracting Command

Mr. Jason Detko – Army Contracting Command

Mr. Michael Patterson – Army Contracting Command

- Mr. Arthur Harris Army Contracting Command
- Ms. Jackie Woodson Army Contracting Command
- Mr. Mark Vaccaro Expeditionary Contracting Command
- Mr. Tim Pugh Mission and Installation Contracting Command

Washington Headquarters Service

- Ms. Linda Allen (SES)
- Ms. Karen Rooney
- Ms. Kortnee Stewart
- Mr. Brent Brinson
- Ms. Alvina Woodson
- Mr. David Dornburgh
- Mr. Bryan Kiser
- Mr. Richard Marcey
- Mr. Dan Whetsell

U.S. Special Operations Command

- Mr. Charles Weiner
- Ms. Dianne Ohlandt

Mr. William Desjardins

Awards presented by National Industries for the Blind (NIB) in FY12:

Vice Admiral Alan Thompson; Recognized for support of the AbilityOne Program.

Mr. Joseph H. Jeu (SES), Director and CEO, Defense Commissary Agency; Recipient of NIB's Government in Excellence Award.

Mr. Thomas Milks (SES), former Acting CEO and COO of Defense Commissary Agency; Recognized for support of the AbilityOne Program.

Awards presented by NISH - Creating Employment Opportunities for People with Significant Disabilities at the 2012 National Training and Achievement Conference:

Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) Troop Support; Recipient of the Government Award for Products Award. This award recognizes a military organization or civilian federal agency that has provided outstanding support to the AbilityOne Program for Products.

U.S. Army Medical Command (USAMEDCOM) Fort Sam Houston, Texas; Recipient of the Government Award for Services (Military) Award. This award recognizes a military organization that has provided outstanding support to the AbilityOne Program for Services.

U.S. Army Garrison-Redstone Arsenal; Recipient of the Government Award for Services (Military) Award. This award recognizes a military organization that has provided outstanding support to the AbilityOne Program for Services.

DOD-AbilityOne Procurement Champions Recognized by NISH in FY12:

John Moeller – Fort Meade

Randy Williams - Fort Meade

Ted Hartman – Fort Meade

COL Scott Svabek, United States Army - MEDCOM

Lisa Schneider - Defense Acquisition University

Ellen Klotz – Defense Acquisition University

Ruthann Haider – USA Corps of Engineers

Jackie Johnston - NAVFAC MIDLANT